Elmo

I have to admit I wasn’t a big fan of Elmo until I read ‘My Life as a Furry Red Monster: What Being Elmo has taught me about life and laughing out loud’ I’m more a fan of  Kevin Clash. I just watched the documentary last night and loved it too!

By being Elmo’s puppeteer, Kevin Clash has learned love, joy, creativity, tolerance, courage, friendship, cooperation, learning and optimism. It’s refreshing to read a book so upbeat, warm and  positive. Kevin is an incredibly gratuitous, humble and warm man. He praises the people around him and those who contributed to his life.

One of my favourite stories was when young Kevin made a puppet out of the lining of his father’s trench coat without his permission. Dad’s reaction? “Next time, just ask.”  I love the fact that he has such supportive parents.

