Master Class

I enjoy going over to my parent’s house because they don’t have internet so it gets me away from the computer….but they have cable…so I spend  hours on the couch. This time around there was a free preview of the Oprah Winfrey Network and I caught a show called Master Class.

“They are the stories you’ve never heard from the people you thought you knew best. Handpicked by Oprah for their unique impact on the world, eight true modern masters sit down to share the untold stories that have shaped their lives and the greatest life lessons they’ve learned along the way. In an intimate setting, they open up about their successes, failures, triumphs, disappointments and heartbreaks.” Click here to the link of Master Class

The episode I watched was with Diane Sawyer. She lives quite an insightful life.

Two of my favourite quotes from the Diane Sawyer are

“I read once, which I loved so much, that this great physicist who won a Nobel Prize said that every day when he got home, his dad asked him not what he learned in school but his dad said, ‘Did you ask any great questions today?’ And I always thought, what a beautiful way to educate kids that we’re excited by their questions, not by our answers and whether they can repeat our answers.”

We need to be encouraged in life to ask quality, deep questions and not just repeat what we were taught. We need to be more curious and not just take things as is. I love hanging out with people who explore and make up worlds that do not exist yet.

“My dad, I still think, had the most beautiful, simple checklist for what you should do in life: Do something you really love that you would do it anyway. Do it in the most adventurous place you can do it. And make sure that it helps other people. And if you feel there’s a genuine need for it, and that through that need you can help other people, you’re home.”

Ah…more on the checklist theme. This is a beautiful one. I love the last part of the checklist “make sure it helps other people.” I need to get back to  volunteering again. I miss it. I miss meeting new people.

