Goodbye sun! Hello snow!

I arrived in Vancouver to be greeted by snow:)

Outside my apartment window in Vancouver.

Here are my adventures and misadventures in San Francisco. Most of the photos did not turn out because I lack a steady hand when it comes to taking photos without flash:(


My bosses’ rented a house because they took the whole family down to San Francisco. I got the whole place to myself when they went to Disneyland for a couple of days.


My morning email check and tea before I prepare for the walk to work. It’s only about 7 blocks away but damn the hills in San Fran! I shake my fists at you!



Just one of the lovely hills I had to go up. I got wise and found a route that was less steep.

But the view is worth it when I finally reach the top!

San Francisco have some most awesome and colourful murals.

Here’s the first 4Cats Art Studio in the United States of America. It’s in Potrero Hill (291 Connecticut St, San Francisco, CA). It’s a great neighbourhood filled with lots of children. I think the closest neighbourhood it resembles in Vancouver is Kitsilano.

My adventures outside of work. If you visit San Francisco and you plan to hit three or more of these places (California Academy of Science, Exploratorium, SFMOMA, De Young, Aquarium, Blue and Gold Fleet Bay Cruise) and take the cable car and muni public transportation, I recommend you buy a CITY PASS for  $64. Definitely worth the money. The admission to the California Academy of Science for an adult alone is 29.95.  I did everything except the Aquarium and the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay Cruise as I didn’t have enough time but still I got my money’s worth. Buy a transit map too! It’s $3.oo and worth it as I was wandering downtown for a good 3 hours before I found a place to buy one.

I love science centers and I have to say the Exploratorium: the museum of science, art and human perceptions is one of my favourite places. I like to interact with things and everything here was interactable (I think I might have made that word up). I like how everything is exposed even the maintenance, workshops and meeting rooms. You can see people fixing exhibits, working on new ones and see staff brainstorming.


This piece is called a Sip of Conflict. Would you drink from a water fountain fashioned from an actual (but unused!) toilet? It does work.


Beautiful isn’t it? It’s a wall of Bacteria.

One of my favourite Black Sand. Black Sand uses a large magnet to attract magnetic sand or steel pellets to form a moldable mound between the poles.
Click the link below to watch a black sand explainer video.http://exs.exploratorium.edu/exhibits/black-sand/


The living roof. California Academy of Science is the one of the greenest museums in the world.

“The Academy is a single structure but contains multiple venues, including the aquarium, the planetarium, the natural history museum and the 4-story rainforest. In addition, there’s a 3D theater, a lecture hall, a Naturalist Center, two restaurants, an adjacent garden and aviary, a roof terrace, and an Academy store.” California Academy of Science

The Aquarium in the academy. I love the underwater creatures!

You heard of seahorses but have you heard of seadragons????
Outside of the living 4-story rainforest. The rainforest is contained within a spectacular 90-foot diameter glass dome. It’s the largest spherical rainforest exhibit in the world.


Museem Mechanique is one of the world’s largest privately owned collections of mechanically operated musical instruments and antique arcade machines. I love this place and I can spend countless hours here.

That’s pretty much the end of most of my photos as my camera battery died or the night shots are way too dark:(

Here’s a shot of just some of the purchases I made a 826 Valencia.  826 Valencia is dedicated to supporting students ages 6 – 18 with their writing skills, and to helping teachers get their students excited about literary arts. If you haven’t watched it already click here to watch Dave Eggers talk about 826 Valencia on Ted. If you’re a teacher, writer or just love words, I highly recommend you purchase Don’t Forget to Write. 54 Enthralling and Effective writing lesson for students 6-18. It’s a fanatstic book. I’ll talk about it in another post but the lessons are highly entertaining and fun! It’s starting to make me write short stories. One of my favourite books of all times.

Here is a list of some of the places I ate that I would recommend to others.
In and Out burger – Burgers, fries and milkshakes (you just have to go. At least just once)
Tartine Bakery – Baked goods. I consumed a piece of quiche and an eclair.
Hazel’s Kitchen – Cafe. I consumed a hot pastrami and swiss sandwich and a chef’s salad.
Baked – Baked goods. I don’t remember exactly what I consumed here but they were delish!
Papito’s – Mexican. I consumed a chirzo super burrito and a duck regular burrito.
The Grove Cafe Yerba Buena – Coffee, Tea, and Sandwiches. I consume a tuna melt and chips.

Well, that’s about it for now. I hope this helps you out if you decide to go to San Francisco.

