William Kentridge

Random discovery. I came across him in an art gallery in Malmo Sweden. Wonderful stuff. William Kentridge is a South African artist that is best known for his animated films. These films are constructed by filming a drawing, making erasures and changes, then filming it again.

His animations deal with political and social issues. It’s not just stunning work but there is meaning behind it.

Special treat. They actually shipped this to the Art gallery in Malmo and I sat and watched it twice and I could have watched this over and over again. It’s called the Black Box and it’s a mechanical miniturized world theatre.

I’ve just attached just part one. Of course, this video doesn’t do it justice. You need to see the how these mechanical pieces work in real life.

If you haven’t noticed a trend with me. I’m really interested in low-tech creations. Creating complex or seemly complex pieces with simple tools. I like the idea that you don’t need a lot of stuff, just time, patience and imagination. You need to be willing to experiment and take risks. If you fail, so what?

